Published by Corgi Books

This book contains three short novels that have been republished in one volume. They all focus on the area of Cleveland and North Yorkshire where Theresa Tomlinson spent much of her childhood and where she now lives.

BENEATH BURNING MOUNTAIN tells the story of a family of alum workers who suffer raids from the press gang, a landslide and the disgusting everyday working conditions of their industry. Not for the squeamish!

THE FLITHER PICKERS was inspired by the photographs of fisher people taken by the famous Victorian/Edwardian photographer Frank Meadow Sutcliffe. Click here to find out more about Frank Meadow Sutcliffe by visiting the website of the Sutcliffe Gallery at www.sutcliffe-gallery.co.uk

‘The Flither Pickers really lets us see the harshness and reality of life in a fishing village one hundred years ago’

THE HERRING GIRLS – ‘This book said a great deal to me personally. I have had relatives who came from the fishing villages of the North East Scotland and I remember an uncle telling me of how girls from these villages used to follow the herring fleet around the country.’

'Utterly absorbing' Michael Morpurgo

ISBN 0552552798

Find Author on Amazon

Email: theresa.tomlinson@btinternet.com

© Theresa Tomlinson 2014 | Website by The Conversion Company (Whitby) Ltd